2023 Scholarship Recipients Named

BCEF is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2023 scholarships to Batesville High School (BHS) graduates. These scholarship awards totaled $31,500. Scholarship recipients are chosen by a committee of individuals that consists of two BCEF board members, the BHS principal, and two community members.

BCEF’s newest scholarship is the Ron Raver Memorial Scholarship, established by his family after his passing last year. Raver was a 1958 graduate of BHS and a long-time teacher and coach of basketball, cross-country, and track at the high school. Applicants for this award had to rank in the top 15% of the graduating class and have participated in one of the sports that Mr. Raver coached.  In addition, applicants had to demonstrate that they have the following qualities and characteristics that Coach Raver displayed: actively involved in school, church, and community and proven determination and perseverance. The $1,000 scholarship was awarded to Madison Rahschulte.

The foundation also awarded the Bobbie Brandes Memorial Scholarship, named in honor of Mrs. Roberta “Bobbie” Brandes, who served as the administrative assistant to the principal of Batesville High School for nearly 40 years. This scholarship was established by her family after her passing in 2021 as a way to continue her legacy of impacting students. To qualify for the scholarship, applicants had to rank in the top 15% of their class. Special consideration was given to those applicants who met any of the following criteria: are first-generation college-bound; have demonstrated leadership in school organizations or sports teams; are pursuing a career in education; or have demonstrated civic and community engagement. A $2,500 scholarship was awarded to Megan Raab.

The Mary C. Horstman Scholarship was established from money donated to BCEF by Horstman, who wished for the funds to be used to assist students with post-secondary expenses. Graduates who plan to pursue a trade or who have a connection to agriculture were given special consideration. A $1,000 scholarship was awarded to each of the following BHS graduates: Blake Belter, Jenna Honnert, and Samuel Weigel.

BCEF’s top scholarship, worth $5,000 each to five recipients this year, is the James E. Fritsch Memorial Scholarship. BHS alumnus Fritsch left a sum of money upon his passing to assist students who are pursuing post-secondary study. Applicants had to rank in the top 15% of their class. This year’s recipients included Raymond Henry Dirkhising, Thomas Hartman, Jenna Honnert, Megan Raab, and Cayman Werner.